1. Home
  2. Networks
  3. Creative Cities Network

The UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN) is a world in itself, with a membership of over 350 cities. These cities place creativity and cultural industries at the heart of their local development plans and actively cooperate with other cities in the Network.   

The UCCN in Canada

Four Canadian cities are part of UNESCO's Creative Cities Network, in four different areas:

  • Montréal, Creative City of Design since 2006
  • Quebec City, Creative City of Literature since 2017
  • Toronto, Creative City of Media Arts since 2017
  • London, Creative City of Music since 2021

The network's cities are organized into seven creative fields: crafts and folk arts, design, film, gastronomy, literature, media arts, and music.

These cities have committed to being part of the network to share best practices, develop partnerships that promote creativity and the cultural industries, strengthen participation in cultural life and integrate culture in urban development plans.

They also commit to leading the charge towards implementing the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development at the local level.

Stay tuned: follow our blog and check out our resources

Check out our resourcesRead our blog

The UNESCO Creative Cities Network has a membership of over 200 cities.

Find out more about the global network